Home Accommodation Low Head Tourist Park - Low Head TASMANIA

Low Head Tourist Park - Low Head TASMANIA

Book your stay


Tamar River Views • Deluxe S/C Large Cottages 4 Stars • R/C Air Conditioning • Ensuite Powered Sites • New ablutions block with Disabled

Facilities • Standard Cabins • All Linen Provided • BBQs & Campers Kitchen • Powered & Tent Sites • Laundry Facilities


The Low Head Tourist Park provides the perfect resting point for those wishing to explore the historic Tamar Valley region and experience the sometimes raw, sometimes tranquil but always beautiful waters of Bass Strait and the majestic Tamar River.

Explore East Beach, the Tamar River, Low Head Lighthouse, Maritime Museum & Pilot Station, Fairy Penguin Parade, and Historic George Town. Drive the wine route and what ever you do don?t miss lunch at Pipers Brook Vineyard.

Take to the water for a fishing or dive charter, Seal & Sea Adventure Tour, or visit Seahorse World & Platypus House. There is plenty to see and do, so stop and rest awhile.

Located at the mouth of the Tamar River the town of Low Head, together with George Town, are both classified historic towns. In fact George Town is the third oldest town in Australia and has numerous places of interest just ready to explore, inviting many travellers to this attractive area of northern Tasmania.

The two main beaches are East Beach on Bass Strait and the quieter and safe Lagoon Bay is a popular swimming beach on the river. Several launching ramps are in the area, including a harbour built in the Cornish style at the Pilot Station. This region is also famous for its picturesque sunrises and breathtaking sunsets. George Town is one of the most important historic sites in North Eastern Tasmania and can claim to be one of the earliest European settlements in Tasmania. As early as 1804 William Paterson camped on the site and by 1811 a permanent settlement had been established by Lachlan Macquarie and named after King George III.

The population reached 5000 around the turn of the century when gold was discovered at Lefroy (15 km east of town) in 1870's. Today George Town is a modern administrative centre. It is economically driven by the aluminium industry at Bell Bay and the tourist industry which attracts people to this attractive area of northern Tasmania.

The Old Watch House Museum in Macquarie Street, George Town was originally the local lockup for both male and female offenders, originally built in 1843 it has been restored and now operates as a focal point of the regions rich history. View the Model Village - painstakingly recreated to scale by volunteer labour and the History Room operated by the George Town & District Historical Society.

Bass & Flinders Centre. In 1798 the explorers Bass & Flinders sailed with a crew of 8 in HM Colonial Sloop Norfolk right into the Tamar River and anchored off what is now George Town. The replica of His Majesty's colonial sloop Norfolk can now be viewed in the Bass & Flinders Centre at 8 Elizabeth St, George Town along with a host of maritime history. http://www.bassandflinders.org.au

Pilot Station . A Pilot Station was established and manned at Low Head in 1805 but the stone buildings built by convicts to shelter workers from the weather didn't happen until 1835.

Check In: 14.00|Check Out: 10.00
Hours: 8am to 6pm


  • Air Conditioning
  • Balcony
  • Cooking Facilities
  • DVD / Pay TV
  • Family / Child Friendly
  • Free Parking
  • Internet
  • Laundry
  • Parking
  • Pets Allowed
  • Water Views

Map & Directions

136 Low Head Rd, Low Head TAS 7253, Australia


GPS: South 41° 5.1 East 146° 48.42

Cancellation Policy

A $10.00 non-refundable booking fee applies. Notice must be at least 2 days prior to check in date.


Low Head is looking great in the summer. Come and join in.