Home Play Discover Deloraine and Districts Folk Museum

Deloraine and Districts Folk Museum



The Deloraine & Districts Folk Museum provides a fascinating insight into our regions pioneering past.

The Folk Museum encompasses the Family & Commercial Inn built in 1863 with the Inn set up as it may have been when the publican lived in it. A Pioneer village consisting of reclaimed and reproduction heritage buildings showcasing the lives and farming equipment of early settlers is set in lovely fragrant gardens of English flowers and native trees.

For a fun day out, bring the kids, bring grandad, there is something for everyone.

* * *

Current Displays:

‘Past the Post’ Exhibition.

In partnership with the Meander Valley Council we are proud to present ‘Past the Post’, an exhibition showcasing Deloraine’s extraordinary horse racing history.

This exhibition serves to celebrate the people and horses whose legacy has helped shape our community. The massive crowds that gathered every Easter to watch live steeple racing, the great horses, fearless jockeys and passionate owners & trainers.

Horse racing officially began in 1853 when a small committee was formed, a tract of land on the Alveston Estate was loaned from James McArthur and Deloraine had its first official racecourse. The inaugural meeting took place over two days in March and so began a glorious 152 year history.

This exhibition invites you to step back in time to discover or remember a unique and highly significant cornerstone of our community.

Curated by museum volunteers with wonderful support from the racing community, this exhibition is open to the public from 9 - 5 every day.

Jimmy Possum Display

Who was the real Jimmy Possum? See some bush chairs surrounding the mystery and discover clues about Tasmania's most mythical innovator.

For more information on Jimmy Possum please see the links below:

The man, the mystery, the chair: Who was Jimmy Possum?

Tasmanian Tuxedo: #47 Who was Jimmy Possum?

The Sewing Room Display.

A quaint display of early vintage full size and miniature sewing machines.The sewing machine display is free.

In 1972 Mrs. Alma Bramich donated the Inn and grounds to the community of Deloraine, Meander Valley, to help preserve the history of the pioneers of the area and as a tribute to them. The restoration of the property was carried out by the Deloraine Group of the National Trust, Rotary Club, Meander Valley Council and many community members.

Museum entry is $10.00 per ticket, $8.00 for concession, $20.00 family (2A, 2C). Children are $4.00 under 16. Groups of 10 or more are $6.00 per head.

Coach parking is available at the front door together with disabled public facilities.

Hours: Open 7 days from 9am to 5pm. Winter weekend hours may vary.

Contact details

Phone: 03 6362 5280

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Web: Visit website

Map & Directions

98-100 Emu Bay Rd, Deloraine TAS 7304, Australia


500 metres to Deloraine Post Office. 49 kilometres to Launceston. 48 kilometres to Devonport.